How to: #DeleteFacebook

  • October 15, 2019
 

Written by Richard New at IDPP

#DeleteFacebook is trending on Twitter, so here’s a How To.

It seems that, in the wake of the revelation that Mark Zuckerberg’s secret meetings (according to Politico), #DeleteFacebook is trending on Twitter…again.

I’m sure there are several questions about this, that perhaps even Zuckerberg himself couldn’t answer. Should I delete Facebook? Should I not? Is my data being stolen? Am I being discriminated against? Am I being targeted with ads, based on my gender, or my sex? Does my tin-foil hat really stop the government from reading my brain waves? Is the whole system rigged?

No alt text provided for this image

The Facebook CEO said, “To be clear, I have dinners with lots of people across the spectrum…Meeting new people and hearing from a wide range of viewpoints is part of learning. If you haven’t tried it, I suggest you do!”

I’m not going to delve into the “rights and wrongs” of Facebook, instead I’d rather supply some (hopefully) helpful information. So here it is…How to Delete your Facebook Account.

 

Deleting vs deactivating Facebook – what's the difference?

Deactivation is generally the way to go if you're just looking for a break from Facebook.

According to Facebook's official guidance, deactivation means:

·        You can reactivate your account whenever you like

·        People won't be able to see your timeline, or search for your profile

·        Some info will remain visible, like messages you've sent to other users

Deletion is a much more serious process and will permanently scrub your entire Facebook existence from the company's servers.

When you delete your Facebook account, it means:

·        You can't regain access once the account is deleted

·        Deletion is delayed for a few days after the request. Your deletion request will be cancelled if you log back in during this time

·        It can take up to 90 days for Facebook to delete your data stored in backup systems. Your info won't be accessible on Facebook during this time

·        Some things aren't stored in your account. This means some friends might have messages from you, even after your account is deleted

·        Some materials (like Facebook's own log records) may be retained in Facebook's databases, but they'll be disassociated from personal identifiers (like your name)

Once your Facebook account is deleted, it's gone forever – so have a long, hard think about it before you close your Facebook profile for good.

 

How to deactivate your Facebook account

Deactivating your Facebook account is easy and takes just a few seconds. Here's what you need to do.

·        Log in to your Facebook account

·        Click the small down arrow located in the upper right-hand corner of your Facebook homepage

·        Find 'Settings' and click on it

·        Hover over 'Manage Account' and click on 'Edit'

·        Click on 'Deactivate your account' at the bottom of the opened tab

·        Complete the form and click 'Deactivate' at bottom of the page

If you change your mind and want to reactivate your Facebook account, all you need to do is log back into Facebook with your details.

Your profile and account will be restored, and you will not have lost anything.

 

How to delete a Facebook account permanently

No alt text provided for this image

If you want to permanently delete Facebook, the social network has a page dedicated to the process.

There is no going back from permanently deleting Facebook though, so it is a good idea to back up all your data first.

This means that if you decide you want Facebook back in the future, you will not have lost all your photos, contacts, and other information.

Follow these easy steps to download your Facebook data.

·        Click the down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings

·        Click "Download a copy of your Facebook data" at the bottom of the General Account Settings

·        Click Start My Archive

·        To delete Facebook once and for all, simply head over to Facebook's 'Delete Account' page and follow the instructions provided.

Your archive will probably be very large, as it includes posts, comments, photos, messages, and much more.

 

This post was written by Richard New, using content from additional sources.

 

Original Posts:

https://www.thesun.co.uk/tech/5403826/how-to-delete-facebook-account/

https://sanfrancisco.cbslocal.com/2019/10/14/deletefacebook-trends-after-report-says-zuckerberg-secretly-dined-with-conservatives/

https://deletefacebook.com/